Congratulations, SBIES DARE Graduates!

South Butler Intermediate Elementary's 5th graders celebrated their D.A.R.E. graduation recently. In attendance were special guests District Attorney Richard Goldinger and Butler Co. Drug & Alcohol's Allison Gall, plus Deputy Sheriff and D.A.R.E. Officer Bret Vulakovich 
The following students were awarded small prizes like skate and laser tag passes for writing outstanding D.A.R.E. essays:
3rd place:  Grace Mayhugh, Noah Musloe, Gabriella Goldinger, Jada Burgard, Gretta Hull, Sarah Edder, and Sarah Buttyan
2nd place:  Molly Manzer, Aubry Savannah, Lindsey Wise, Annika Dadowski, Jack Nowicki, Carter Worsley, and Kaden Dreher.
1st place:  Zach Szebalskie, Ava west, Hannah Butler, Aedan Smith, Ciara Santiago Figueroa, and Olivia Carraher
Overall Winner of the essay contest was Josie Graper.  Josie read her essay aloud to the audience.
This is the D.A.R.E. program description provided:
The Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) program is a pioneer prevention effort founded in Los Angeles in 1983. 
The curriculum teaches students how to say no by presenting practical drug resistance strategies that are easy for them to remember and use.  Students also learn how to recognize risk, value their perceptions and feelings, and make choices that support their values.
The D.A.R.E. program at the Butler County Sheriff's Office reaches over 1,500 fifth grade students a year; giving each student the skills necessary to make good decisions in the future.
Congratulations to all the 5th graders who graduated from this important program!
Group picture of DARE students
Third Place Essay Contest Winners (front) Noah Musloe, Sarah Buttyan, Jada Burgard; (back) Grace Mayhugh, Gabrielle Goldinger, Officer Bret Vulakovich, Gretta Hull, and Sarah Edder.
Pictures of 2nd place essay contest winners
Second Place Essay Contest Winners (front) Carter Worsley, Kaden Dreher, Annika Dadowski,  and Aubry Savannah; (back) Molly Manzer, Lindsey Wise, Officer Vulakovich, and Jack Nowicki.
First Place Essay Contest Winners
First Place Winners:  (front) Josie Graper, Ava West, and Hannah Butler; (back) Aedan Smith, Olivia Carraher, Officer Vulakovich, Zach Szebalskie, and Ciara Santiago Figueroa.